Subgenus Lophoceraomyia Theobald

Lophoceraomyia was originally proposed as a distinct genus by Theobald (1905), with uniformis Theobald, 1905 as its type and the only included species. It was reduced to a subgenus of Culex by Edwards (1917). Edwards (1932) divided the subgenus (as subgenus Lophoceratomyia) into three groups: Group A (minutissimus-group), Group B (Lophoceratomyia or fraudatrix-group) and Group C (Cyathomyia or mammilifer-group). Edwards later (1934, in Barraud, 1934), amalgamated Groups A and B and subdivided Group C. Colless (1965), however, preferred to recognise only two major groups, with the second divided into two subgroups. Sirivanakarn (1977) modified the classifications of Edwards (1932, 1934) and Colless (1965) to include three groups, the Fraudatrix, Mammilifer and Wilfredi Groups, based principally on structures of the antennae and genitalia of males. The division of these groups into subgroups and complexes by Sirivanakarn (1968, 1977) forms the backbone of the current classification of the subgenus.
Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith